Company News: Page (1) of 1 - 08/16/04 Email this story to a friend. email article Print this page (Article printing at page facebook

WIN Adds Ads to 2004 WIN Awards

Honors those who create shows, ads, or TV shows that Honor Women (August 16, 2004)

Women’s Image Network (WIN) announces the addition of a new television advertising component to The 11th WIN Awards Show and presents its panel of illustrious judges. The new WIN Awards television advertising component will recognize outstanding television advertising created or directed by a woman. Men are also welcome to enter The 2004 WIN Ad Awards, as WIN also honors advertising that promotes empowering female media messages.

The WIN Awards Show is scheduled for November 7, 2004 in Los Angeles, (with a follow-up presentation of the winning ad work in New York City in January).

Since its 1993 inception, The WIN Awards has established itself as the only awards show of its kind. The WIN Awards stand alone venerating studio films and broadcast network, cable television (and now television/internet advertising), and recognizing outstanding television commercials, films and television shows that feature female protagonists OR for ads that have been directed by a woman, created by a woman OR that promote empowering media messages for women.

WIN has established specific measures that promise to make The 2004 WIN Ad Awards a MUST PARTICIPATE show. First, WIN gathered men and women who are not token judges, but who are internationally renowned, industry trailblazers, who actively create exceptional work. Generously donating their time our eminent judges will spend countless hours reviewing WIN Ad Award entries to uphold our high creative standards.

The 2004 WIN Ad Award judges includes Ms. Charlotte Moore, Ms. Ellen Steinberg, Ms. Amee Shah: Bartle, Bogle & Hegarty, Ms. Monica Taylor, Weiden+Kennedy, Ms. Tone Garmann: New Deal-DDB, Mr. Jamie Barrett: Goodby, Silverstein & Partners, Mr. David Oakley: Boone/Oakley, Mr. Chris Staples: Rethink and Mr. Luke Sullivan: GSD+M.

Secondly, a truly great show must be entered by all the agencies producing today's noteworthy advertising. Given our high achieving illustrious panel of judges, rest assured that The WIN Ad Award participants will compete side-by-side with the best in the business.

Thirdly, a successful show is backed by an enduring, committed organization. Women’s Image Network, a 501c3 non-profit corporation that was founded in 1993 and which created The WIN Awards to further its mission to "Foster A World Where Everyone WINs". WIN supports and acknowledges media makers for their work that levels the playing field for women.

Lastly, a pre-eminent awards show must provide an inspiring record of its results. Since our formation WIN has produced countless shows, live events, film screenings, industry panel discussions, an ABC Primetime network television show, 50 YEARS OF FUNNY FEMALES, five WINFemme Film Festivals, (to launch independent short, feature and documentary films), and The WIN Awards.

Previous WIN Award recipients include: Lauren Bacall, Lauren Shuler Donner, Jane Campion, Renée Zellweger, Lynn Redgrave, Kathy Najimy, Ryan Phillipe, Tom Wilkinson, Sarah Jessica Parker, Pierce Brosnan, Lily Tomlin, Vicky Jenson & Laura Ziskin.

The WIN Ad Awards will be adjudicated on both creative excellence and effectiveness. The actual awards are inspired by "the triple Greek Goddesses" and participants will compete for The Hecate Award (top), The Isis Award, (2nd place) and The Persephone Award, (3rd place).

These awards will applaud the best work of 2004 that sets industry standards for creative excellence and serves as a source of inspiration worldwide. WIN aims to leverage its many successes and great support from its powerful, entertainment industry relationships and create its WIN Awards show to promote female talent within the advertising industry.

WIN believes that to the extent women’s voices stay silent we all are robbed of their contribution. And although women represent over 50% of the population, females remain vastly under-represented in media creation, especially in advertising where women comprise just 15% of ad agency creative departments and 22% of the DGA, (The Director’s Guild of America). The WIN Ad Awards will not only applaud established creatives, but will also aims to encourage young women to enter advertising. By bringing a broader base of talent into the industry doesn’t just serve women, it serves advertising.

Women’s Image Network long history includes the annual WIN Film Festival, which features independent films that feature female protagonists, countless live events and television, including the ABC Primetime Special, "FIFTY YEARS OF FUNNY FEMALES", with hosts John Ritter, Paula Poundstone, Debbie Allen and Annie Potts.

WHERE: Los Angeles, California

WHEN: Call to Enter: July 1, 2004. Deadline for Entries: August 31, 2004

THE WIN AWARDS DATE: November 7, 2004

Scheduled to be held November, 2004 at Universal Studios, Women's Image Network will produce the Fifth WIN Film Festival, (formerly WIN Femme), which selects films created by both men and women in the following categories: feature, short, documentary and animation.

All films must have a female protagonist.
or Be a Film Directed By A Woman.

All WIN Film Festival entries may NOT have been previously broadcast or distributed before 11/2004.

WIN also accepts screenplays from both male and female writers that feature a woman in the lead.

WIN produces monthly and / or annual events with winning screenwriters and/or filmmakers.

To enter your film or screenplay in the WIN film festival, print out theWinFemme monthlies application.

All entries are eligible for both the annual and the monthly screenings.

For more information about the Women's Image Network contact [email protected],, Tel: 310-229-5365.


Page: 1

Related Keywords:Women’s Image Network, WIN, WIN Awards Show, The WIN Awards, Charlotte Moore, Ellen Steinberg, Amee Shah, Monica Taylor, Tone Garmann, Jamie Barrett, David Oakley, Chris Staples, Luke Sullivan,

[ServletException in:/common/ads/links.jsp] The absolute uri: cannot be resolved in either web.xml or the jar files deployed with this application'

Our Privacy Policy --- @ Copyright, 2015 Digital Media Online, All Rights Reserved