Company News: Page (1) of 1 - 01/19/05 Email this story to a friend. email article Print this page (Article printing at page facebook

The Cable Center Announces Hall of Fame Inductees

Seven industry leaders to be inducted Oct. 19, 2005 in Denver (January 19, 2005)

The Cable Center today announced the seven members of the Cable Television Hall of Fame Class of 2005.

The honorees, who will be inducted at a ceremony held in Denver on Oct. 19, 2005, include:

* Nickolas Davatzes, president and CEO of A & E Television Networks;
* Thomas E. Freston, co-president and co-chief operating officer, Viacom;
* Michael J. Fuchs, former CEO of HBO;
* Glenn R. Jones, founder, chairman and CEO of Jones Intercable Inc.;
* Monroe M. Rifkin, founder and former chairman of American Television & Communications, Corp. and chairman and CEO of Rifkin & Associates;
* John V. Saeman, former president and CEO of Daniels & Associates and founding partner and chairman of Medallion Enterprises LLC; and
* John Walson, Sr., one of the first cable operators in the country, who will be inducted posthumously.

Membership in the Cable Television Hall of Fame is an honor bestowed annually to those whose achievements have contributed significantly to the growth and development of one or more components of cables diverse industry and to the people, communities, organizations and institutions it serves. Each year, The Centers board of directors appoints a Cable Television Hall of Fame selection committee comprised of leaders from throughout the cable industry. 2001 inductee Robert Miron, chairman and CEO of Advance/Newhouse Communications, chaired the 2005 selection committee.

?The Centers mission is to educate, and the history of cable television provides a multitude of lessons on the spirit of entrepreneurship, ingenuity and resourcefulness, said Bob Russo, president and CEO of The Center. ?The members of the Cable Television Hall of Fame Class of 2005 embody those lessons, and I am delighted that The Center continues to lead the way in honoring such a distinguished group of individuals. I look forward to another festive celebration in October.

The 2005 inductees join the 45 men and women who have been honored since 1998 for their significant and lasting contributions to cable telecommunications.

About The Cable Center
The mission of The Cable Center is to provide high-quality information and education services to its constituents with unwavering intellectual integrity. The Centers constituent groups are the cable industry, the education community and the general public. The Center, which opened its Denver headquarters in 2002, is also dedicated to conserving and displaying the business, history, technology, programming and leaders of the cable industry, and to highlighting the industrys future role in the ongoing advances of telecommunications. The institution is comprised of five core components: The Magness Institute, The Programming Institute, The Barco Library, The Web site and The Demonstration Academy and Technology Museum.

For more information visit


Page: 1

Related Keywords:The Cable Center, Hall of Fame, Nickolas Davatzes, A & E Television Networks, Thomas E. Freston, Viacom, Michael J. Fuchs, HBO, Glenn R. Jones, Jones Intercable, Monroe M. Rifkin, American Television & Communications, John V. Saeman, Daniels & Associates, Medallion Enterprises, John Walson, Cable Television Hall of Fame, Robert Miron, Bob Russo,


Our Privacy Policy --- @ Copyright, 2015 Digital Media Online, All Rights Reserved