Company News: Page (1) of 1 - 06/24/05 Email this story to a friend. email article Print this page (Article printing at page facebook

Richard P. Crudo Re-Elected as President of ASC

Crudo?s third term as President of the American Society of Cinematographers (June 24, 2005)

Richard P. Crudo has been re-elected for a third term as president of the American Society of Cinematographers. The other ASC officers are Vice Presidents Owen Roizman, Daryn Okada, and Curtis Clark, Treasurer Russ Alsobrook, Secretary Michael Goi and Sergeant at Arms Kees Van Oostrum.

The organization's new board of governors includes Crudo, Roizman, Okada, Clark, Russell Carpenter, Roger Deakins, George Spiro Dibie, Francis Kenny, Isidore Mankofsy, Woody Omens, Nancy Schreiber, John Toll, Roy Wagner, Haskell Wexler and Vilmos Zsigmond. Alternate board members are Goi, Van Oostrum, Richard Edlund, John Hora and Stephen Lighthill.

"I am once again humbled at this turn of events," says Crudo. "I'm also pleased to know I can count on the brilliant counsel and support of our newly elected board. They're the best people in the industry, and I'm indebted to them for the time and energy they devote to our efforts."

Crudo recently completed principal photography on the feature Under My Skin, starring Donald Faison and Whoopi Goldberg. Among his other credits are Federal Hill, American Buffalo, American Pie, Outside Providence, Down To Earth and the soon to be released New York-based film noir Brooklyn Rules.

About the ASC
ASC traces its roots to 1913 when a handful of cinematographers organized camera clubs in New York and Los Angeles, which met informally for the purpose of sharing ideas about technical and creative issues. Crudo points out that most of the jobs required to produce films existed in the theatre before there were movies. Cinematography was one of the few exceptions to that rule. The first generation of cinematographers was literally inventing a new visual language as a form of expression. Sixteen members of the two camera clubs organized the ASC in December of 1918. The organization was chartered in California on January 9, 1919. From the beginning, ASC membership has been by invitation based on the individual's body of narrative film work. Some 275 cinematographers with national roots in approximately 20 countries are members of ASC today. There are also 140 associate members from various allied sectors of the industry.

For more information about ASC, visit


Page: 1

Related Keywords:ASC, American Society of Cinematographers, Richard P. Crudo, Cinematographers, Cinematography,


Our Privacy Policy --- @ Copyright, 2015 Digital Media Online, All Rights Reserved