Company News: Page (1) of 1 - 03/17/06 Email this story to a friend. email article Print this page (Article printing at page facebook

Game Industry Icons Honored with Stars on Walk of Game

The 2006 inductees were honored at a press and industry-only reception (March 17, 2006)

Six new stars were unveiled yesterday on Walk of Game, the landmark destination honoring icons of the videogame industry. This year, Walk of Game celebrated Sid Meier (creator of Civilization(R), Railroad Tycoon(R) and Pirates(R)) and John Carmack (Technical Director, id Software - developers of DOOM(R) and QUAKE(R)) for Lifetime Achievement, and Lara Croft (Tomb Raider), StarCraft(R), FINAL FANTASY(R) and EverQuest(R) as favorite Games/Characters. Each received a star on Walk of Game, located inside San Francisco's Metreon, a mecca for the gaming community in downtown San Francisco.

The 2006 inductees were honored at a press and industry-only reception where the stars were unveiled. Sid Meier and John Carmack were in attendance to accept their stars for Lifetime Achievement. Accepting on behalf of Lara Croft was Bill Gardner, CEO of US Publishing for Eidos, Toby Gard, design and creative consultant for Lara Croft, and Karima Adebibe, the new Lara Croft model; accepting for EverQuest was Chris Lena (Producer), and Firiona Vie from EverQuest and Antonia Bayle, Queen of Qeynos from EverQuest II; Sonia Im from Square Enix was joined by a team of cosplayers to accept the star for FINAL FANTASY, and Blizzard Entertainment's Shane Dabiri, Producer, and Bob Fitch, Lead Software Engineer, accepted on behalf of StarCraft.

Nolan Bushnell (co-founder of Atari and creator of Pong), 2005 inductee for Lifetime Achievement, headlined the event along with SEGA's Sonic the Hedgehog. Adam Sessler, host of G4's "X-Play" emcee'd the Induction Ceremony.

The newest additions to the attraction are now open to the public, in time for the Game Developers Conference (GDC), an annual gathering of the global game development community, and a Walk of Game partner for the second year. New to Metreon's attraction in 2006, gaming fans can come experience why these games are the voters' choice at the Walk of Game Station - unique stations featuring inducted games.

In 2005, Walk of Game's inaugural inductees included Halo(R), Link (The Legend of Zelda(R)), Mario(R) and Sonic the Hedgehog(R). Shigeru Miyamoto (creator of Mario Bros. and Donkey Kong(R)) and Nolan Bushnell became the first recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Every October, gamers worldwide cast their votes through paper ballots and online submissions at during a one-month voting period. The top four Games/Characters and the top two Lifetime Achievers are then honored with a 24"x24", customized steel star on Walk of Game. Nominations for 2007 will be announced later this year.

Event photos, video and additional information are available online at

About Metreon

Metreon is the first-of-its-kind entertainment center located at Fourth and Mission streets in the heart of downtown San Francisco featuring an eclectic mix of the Bay Area's best restaurants, shopping venues, theatres, and entertainment destinations.

About the CMP Game Group

A core provider of essential information to the professional game industry, the CMP Game Group offers market-defining content, and drives community through the Game Developers Conference, GDC Europe, the Serious Games Summit D.C., GDC Mobile, GDC Asia, Game Developer magazine,, the Independent Games Festival, the Game Developers Choice Awards, and GDCTV. For more information, please visit

Page: 1

Related Keywords:Walk of Game, Sid Meier, John Carmack, Lara Croft , Tomb Raider, EverQuest, FINAL FANTASY, StarCraft


Our Privacy Policy --- @ Copyright, 2015 Digital Media Online, All Rights Reserved