Company News: Page (1) of 1 - 03/03/06 Email this story to a friend. email article Print this page (Article printing at page facebook

CEA Unveils 2005 Digital Television Pioneers Awards Nominees

Awards Honoring HDTV Achievements (March 03, 2006)

The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA(R)) today announced the nominees from five categories for the 2005 Academy of Digital Television (DTV Academy) Pioneers Awards. The awards will be presented on March 15, at the sixth annual DTV Academy Awards luncheon during CEA's Entertainment Technology Policy Summit. The event will be held at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center, March 15-16 in Washington, DC.

At the luncheon, nominees from five DTV Award categories will be recognized during a dynamic high-definition production that highlights their outstanding achievements in the advancement of HDTV throughout 2005. The DTV Academy Awards luncheon is included with Summit registration.

The 2005 DTV Academy Award nominees are:

Best DTV Program Provider:

-- DirecTV

-- Comcast

-- Time Warner

Best DTV Leadership (Industry):

-- Bryan Burns, vice president, strategic business planning and development, ESPN

-- Peter Fannon, vice president for technology policy, government and regulatory affairs, Panasonic

-- Marty Franks, executive vice president, planning, policy and government relations, CBS

Best DTV Leadership (Government):

-- Senator Daniel Inouye (D-HI)

-- Senator Ted Stevens (R-AK)

-- Congressman Joe Barton (R-TX)

-- Congressman Fred Upton (R-MI)

People's Choice:

-- CSI - The Entire Franchise (CBS)

-- NFL Monday Night Football (ABC)

-- SportsCenter (ESPN)

-- Lost (ABC)

President's Award for Outstanding Contribution:

-- Rick Chessen

The DTV Awards are chosen by members of the DTV Academy, a select group of more than 200 individuals who have played a significant role in the decade-long effort that has made digital television a reality for consumers. The DTV Academy includes individuals from the broadcasting, program development, consumer electronics manufacturing and retail industries, as well as present and former government officials and members of the media. The awards honor excellence in five areas: digital content development and delivery from a provider, the people's choice for their favorite HDTV programming, analog-to-digital transition leadership in both the industry and government and overall contribution to the transition to DTV.

In recognition of the pervasiveness and success of DTV, the Academy decided to combine several of the previous award categories. This year the awards focus on several key areas that have influenced this arena over the past year.

CEA will continue celebrating industry and government leaders' achievements at the second annual Digital Patriots Dinner held the evening of March 15. Senator Ensign, Congressman Joe Barton and Microsoft Corp. Chairman Bill Gates will be honored with Digital Patriot Awards during the dinner. CEA's Entertainment Technology Policy Summit will include conference programming that explores the intersection of digital content, content distribution and hardware, as well as HDTV transition issues, network neutrality and the tension between protecting intellectual property and preserving fair use rights.

Page: 1

Related Keywords:CEA , 2005 Digital Television Pioneers Awards Nominees


Our Privacy Policy --- @ Copyright, 2015 Digital Media Online, All Rights Reserved