Company News: Page (1) of 1 - 08/12/04 Email this story to a friend. email article Print this page (Article printing at page facebook

ASC Calls For Entries In Annual TV Competition

19th Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards competition (August 12, 2004)

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has issued a call for entries in three television categories for the 19th Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards competition. The three categories are Episodic Television, Movie/Miniseries/Pilot made for Network TV, and Movie/Miniseries/Pilot for Cable TV. Winners will be announced at the ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards celebration at the Century Plaza Hotel on February 20, 2005.

"This competition is a celebration of a powerful storytelling medium that reaches into virtually every home," says Owen Roizman, ASC, chairman of the ASC Awards Committee. "In addition to recognizing those individuals who have set the contemporary standards for artistic excellence in this demanding form of artistic expression, our goal is to inspire the pursuit of excellence."

ASC President Richard Crudo points out that the ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards is the only competition for cinematographers where the nominees and winners are selected solely by their peers.

"Artistic achievement in cinematography is often transparent because it rarely calls attention to itself," he says. "Only a cinematographer can truly recognize the nuance of light, shadow, color, composition and camera movement. These are what we use to establish a sense of time and place and to amplify mood and performance. We communicate with images in the same way writers communicate with words."

For eligibility in all three of the television categories, programs must air for the first time in 2004. The deadline for submissions is noon on January 3, 2005.

For more information regarding rules and/or to download an entry form, visit the ASC website at, or call 323-969-4333.


Page: 1

Related Keywords:ASC, Outstanding Achievement Awards, American Society of Cinematographers, Owen Roizman, Richard Crudo, cinematographers,


Our Privacy Policy --- @ Copyright, 2015 Digital Media Online, All Rights Reserved