Company News: Page (1) of 1 - 11/28/05 Email this story to a friend. email article Print this page (Article printing at page facebook

2005 J. Michael Brinkman Scholarship Winners Announced

Hollywood Post Alliance announces J. Michael Brinkman Scholarship & Mentoring Fund Award winners (November 28, 2005)

The Hollywood Post Alliance is pleased to announce the 2005 J. Michael Brinkman Scholarship & Mentoring Fund Award Winners. The Fund promotes scholarship in the art and science of post production, provides financial scholarships, internships, mentoring opportunities, HPA educational events, and many other diverse learning opportunities.

Selected from a broad range of applicants - which included students and those already working in the post industry - are the individuals whose commitment and talent most impressed the HPA Scholarship Committee:

* Henry Alconz - Biola University student / Assistant Editor
* Lara Grant - Apprentice Film Editor
* Guy Handelman - California State University, Northridge, student / Personal Assistant
* Brian Kahrs - Project Engineer
* Noemi Morales - Editor
* Fernando Ramirez - California State University, Northridge, student / Vault Librarian
* Stephan Vankov UC San Diego student / Composer

?We are pleased to acknowledge this years winners and are indebted to the generosity of HPAs members and supporters for providing such an outstanding group of awards, states Kathleen Milnes, Chair of the HPA Scholarship Committee and President and CEO of The Entertainment Economy Institute.

This years J. Michael Brinkman Scholarship Award Winners will receive one of the following;
* A scholarship award of up to $1,000
* Avid Xpress Pro film and video editing system
* Sony Vegas 6 desktop editing software
* Smartsound Sonicfire Pro soundtrack creation software
* Registration to the 2006 HPA Technology Retreat
* Registration to HPA Summer School 2005

The J. Michael Brinkman Scholarship & Mentoring Fund program is in its second year and has seen a significant increase in interest, application and donor participation. ?In the tradition of Michael Brinkman himself, we are honored that we have the ability to recognize, reward and help further the careers of the next generation of our post production industry, remarks Leon Silverman, President of HPA and President, Laser Pacific Media Corp.

The HPA Education Committee, comprised of industry executives and educators, administers the Fund and promotes other educational development opportunities for students as well as members of the Hollywood entertainment community. Serving alongside Leon Silverman and Kathleen Milnes, are: Phil Squyres, Sr. VP Technical Operations, Sony Pictures TV, Charles Swartz, CEO, Entertainment Technology Center at USC, Andrew Stucker, General Manager, Studio & Production Markets, Sony Electronics, and Jeff Merritt, Product Line Business Manager, Hi Def/Cinema Products, Panasonic Broadcast & Television Systems Corp.

About the J. Michael Brinkman Scholarship Awards
Michael Brinkman was a leading figure in Hollywoods broadcast and post production communities and a founding member of the Hollywood Post Alliance. Michael spent 16 years with Panasonic and prior to that was an award-winning producer/director working in documentary and educational production. Michael spent his professional life helping others understand technology in the service of the creative endeavor. His contagious enthusiasm and willingness to mentor touched many lives. In his memory the HPA hopes to continue his legacy to the industry and the people who choose to make it their career.

About the Hollywood Post Alliance
The Hollywood Post Alliance (HPA) represents the Southern California-based professional community of businesses and individuals who provide expertise, support, tools and the infrastructure for the creation and finishing of motion pictures, television, commercials, digital media and other dynamic media content.

For more information visit


Page: 1

Related Keywords:Hollywood Post Alliance, J. Michael Brinkman Scholarship, HPA, Avid Xpress Pro, Sony Vegas 6, Smartsound Sonicfire Pro,


Our Privacy Policy --- @ Copyright, 2015 Digital Media Online, All Rights Reserved